But You’ve Just Got to Do It

I’ve always had a problem with getting myself to write in my novels. Starting was easy, as can be shown by the many paragraphs and unfinished first chapters I’ve saved. Going a little farther wasn’t hard either–NaNoWriMo forced me to write, rapidly, a large portion of the rough draft.

But finishing…I’ve never been good with that. It just always seemed so hard to go back to that novel, the old one that seemed so boring now, especially when a shiny new story awaited me, taunting me with enticing new ideas that I could unfold in my mind.

Usually when I write, or am about to start writing, I find myself distracted so easily by other things, as I’m sure you’ve also experienced. Everything just seems so much more interesting than what I’m doing–and wait, do I even know what I’m doing? It would probably just be easier to go do something else. It’s not like I was going to get anything done anyway, right?

Of course, whenever I think that way, I do end up with nothing done. So what’s my problem? I think this quote by Jim Rohn sums it up nicely:

If you really want to do something, you’ll find a way. If you don’t, you’ll find an excuse.

I didn’t try. I didn’t want to try, so I found a reason not to. How do we, then, write in things we don’t want to write in?

I don’t think this quote is saying that we need to want to write. We just need to want to try to write. It’s hard, but you’ve just got to do it. Sometimes, there’s no other way to write than to just decide you’re going to do it. You have to make the choice to not look at those distracting things, and instead turn to your writing.

I’ve made a goal to write (or revise, or plan writing) every day, just for 500 words or 15 minutes. It’s going to be tough at times, but I believe I, and anyone else who’s willing to try, have the capability to achieve this goal by exercising willpower and simply doing what I need to do.

Choose to write, and you’ll find a way. It’s as simple as that: just write.

11 thoughts on “But You’ve Just Got to Do It

  1. Kellyn Roth January 5, 2016 / 10:23 PM

    You’re totally right, Lana! I should make that my goal, too! 🙂

    Like

    • Lana January 6, 2016 / 2:22 PM

      Heh, thanks! And ooh, that’d be fun. I think it’s a good goal.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shim January 6, 2016 / 5:55 PM

    What’s that saying? Writing is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration. It’s so true, too.

    Good luck, Lana! You can do it. When I was having a hard time writing, that’s what I did—set a goal for 500 words a day, and eventually, I got past that block and was writing more like 1k a day and more on really good days.

    Like

    • Lana January 6, 2016 / 6:36 PM

      Ooh, I like that one. Here’s another quote: “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” (Jack London)

      Thanks! I’m hoping it’ll turn out well for me–mostly I just want to make sure that I’m writing every day.

      Like

      • Shim January 6, 2016 / 8:19 PM

        Ooh, yes, that one’s good, too.

        Writing everyday is always a good skill, I think. You can do it!

        Like

      • Lana January 7, 2016 / 3:08 PM

        I think so too. Thanks! I’ve done well so far, but then again, I’ve only been doing it for a week…

        Like

      • Shim January 8, 2016 / 10:08 AM

        Yeah. Just wait until you’ve got it for like a month or so.

        Like

      • Lana January 9, 2016 / 10:42 AM

        Hehe, and then what?

        Like

      • Shim January 9, 2016 / 11:08 AM

        AND THEN AWESOMENESS.

        Like

      • Lana January 9, 2016 / 1:42 PM

        OKAY. I’LL LOOK FORWARD TO IT.

        Like

      • Shim January 9, 2016 / 3:51 PM

        GOOD.

        Like

Leave a Reply

