Ready or Not, Here I Come!

I think I’ve finished the prep for my Zel novel. Over 50 pages of handwritten notes, plus 20 typed, as well as many rambles written to my friends on the YWP site. Worldbuilding, characterization, a few preliminary scenes here and there, and a very basic plot.

Okay, so maybe the plot could still use some more work, but I don’t want to wait while claiming “I’m not ready” if I’ll never be ready. I’ve already found things that need more development, and I haven’t even started yet. I could take ages working on the prep for this novel, with meticulous world building and fully developed characters, and still never get to a point where I felt ready to begin.

Of course, most of us do need to prep, to a point. I’ve written plenty of novels where I haven’t done any prep at all, and to be honest, they didn’t turn out as well as they could have, if I had just planned a little bit more.

But, at the same time, we can’t stay prepping forever. I’ve heard that there’s a fine line between editing your novel and just procrastinating doing anything with it, and I think this applies well to novel prep as well. Once you’ve reached a certain point, you just have to dive in instead of testing the waters with your toe.

I’m not sure where that fine line is for me. Maybe I could continue prepping a little longer and then begin, but I’d rather err on the side of having a little bit more revision to do than on the side of procrastination.

So I’m going to start writing the first draft. And if this one doesn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped, there’ll be room for a second draft, and a third, and a fourth, and as many drafts as are needed to fix it up and make it right.

I’ve decided I’m finished counting down. So, ready or not, here I come!

8 thoughts on “Ready or Not, Here I Come!

  1. scatterbrainedseamstress January 21, 2016 / 9:50 PM

    It’s funny how different we are…if I plan out my novel I can’t explore it for myself. And I’m too lazy too… :P. Anyway YAY CONGRATS

    Like

    • Lana January 22, 2016 / 6:50 AM

      Well…I didn’t really plan it out. I did worldbuilding and character development, but I can’t make up the plot before I start, at least not in an outline-y way. But so far, this mixture of sort of half-planning, half-pantsing is working well. AND THANKS

      Like

  2. scatterbrainedseamstress January 21, 2016 / 9:51 PM

    I love how you categorized it “procrastination”

    Like

    • Lana January 22, 2016 / 6:50 AM

      I wasn’t procrastinating on the planning, I was procrastinating on starting writing, heh. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

