They Lied to Us, the Weathermen

This is a poem I wrote a couple weeks ago based off a conversation I had while driving to school. It’s definitely not a masterpiece or anything, but it amused me and was quite fun to write.


 

They lied to us, the weathermen

Did they ever tell the truth?

I used to watch them every day

With all the innocence of youth.

 

They said today the sun would shine

But one glance outside my window

Reveals the awful truth they hid

The snow falls in a blizzard.

 

All I see is swirling white

As the snow just blows and blows.

They lied to us, the weathermen

And I just can’t let it go.

 

I always trusted their reports

And blindly let them guide me.

My heart grows cold–now I know

That “chance” of sun meant nothing.

 

I meant to take a walk today

A picnic on the beach.

Now I guess I’m stuck at home

Under mountains of blankets and sheets.

 

They lied to us, the weathermen–

No, they lied to me!

My frozen heart is shattered now

No more to be free.

 

I cannot trust the weathermen.

I’ll never trust again.

Anyone catch the subtle Frozen reference?

13 thoughts on “They Lied to Us, the Weathermen

    • Lana March 1, 2016 / 9:58 PM

      Hehe, thank you!
      Well, it was actually an accidental Frozen reference. I wrote the part about “let it go” and then I went, wait, that sounds like Frozen. But then I thought about it, and I thought, actually, this could fit. Because I can’t let it go, so the cold does bother me anyway…

      Like

      • Lana March 4, 2016 / 4:27 PM

        Yeah, sorta punny-ish, that’s a good description of it, hehe.

        Like

  1. Kellyn Roth March 1, 2016 / 9:48 PM

    Have I ever been known NOT to get a Frozen reference? OF COURSE I GOT IT! 😉

    For some reason I haven’t sickened of Frozen yet … I still like it. On the other hand, I don’t have readily available little siblings, so …. XD

    Like

    • Kellyn Roth March 1, 2016 / 9:49 PM

      … and … I just realized I said nothing about your poem in that last comment. XD

      I loved it! Very humorous! Much better than most poems I read in poetry books! 🙂 😀

      Like

      • Lana March 1, 2016 / 10:08 PM

        …and I just responded to your other comment before remembering I should just respond to both in this one. XD

        Thank you! I’m glad you liked it, hehe!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Lana March 1, 2016 / 10:07 PM

      Hehe, I’m glad you got it! I’m not really sick of it…I’ve only seen it 2 or 3 times. Maybe 4. I think it’s mostly just the opinions of other people that tend to make me slightly averse to it. Of course, I threw in the reference anyway, just for fun and because I thought it fit.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth March 2, 2016 / 11:08 AM

        It did fit! 🙂 I have watched it several times and I’m totally mindblown whenever people say they’re sick of it. “Why …?” XD

        Like

      • Lana March 4, 2016 / 4:29 PM

        Hehe, I do like parts of it. Especially the part where Anna and Kristoff first meet Olaf…that made me laugh. (I can’t stand that Kristoff sings a song about “reindeers” though. I want to tell him that’s not grammatically correct…)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth March 4, 2016 / 5:16 PM

        XD I never thought of that before, actually, but the plural of reindeer is just reindeer, isn’t it!? 😀

        Like

      • Lana March 5, 2016 / 4:44 PM

        Yeah, it is, which is why that song bothers me. But otherwise I mostly like the movie.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

