Reformatting and the Epic Sci-Fi

As you can see (or maybe you can’t, if you’re on the Reader or your email), The Music of Words has undergone a marvelous transformation. Okay, it’s not really that amazing, but I think this design has a more professional and clean-cut feel to it than my previous one.

So, there’s that. And I’m also finally going to tell you about the Epic Sci-Fi! I’ve had this idea for a couple of weeks, but I haven’t gotten around to telling you about it until now. Here’s the story.

Long, long ago, in a galaxy far, far away, Lana had an idea for a story. (Well, it may have slightly been stolen from some sort of adopt-a-prompt thing where someone actually took it before she could, but she altered it anyway, so that was okay.) And the idea for the story fascinated her so much that she wrote the first scene during her choir class, which was rather difficult, since in choir, one is supposed to be singing, not writing.

She wrote anyway.

It was about a guy named Kai (the name suggested by one of Lana’s friends) and how he had to go through something painful without showing any pain, or else he would die. And yes, there may have been a girl watching him.

When Lana came home from school, she typed up what she’d written, adding in a dying mother, and continued to write. The girl became Taira. Kai stayed Kai, because Lana didn’t have any ideas for a better name.

And, slowly, the story evolved. She wrote in it between NaNoWriMos, scenes here and there, and in just shy of a year, she’d finally finished the 98,000 word draft. Lana loved that story so much that she decided she would come back to revise it.

Throughout the next months, it stayed on her mind. Ideas for its revision started to pop up, as well as ideas for a second book. Though she wrote other things, it was the thing she kept having new ideas for.

And then the idea hit her, just a few weeks before Camp NaNoWriMo was supposed to start and she was supposed to write the second book: this could be an epic sci-fi. (Which was like an epic fantasy, only in a sci-fi setting.)

This idea intrigued Lana, so she started to work on it. More POV characters than just Kai and Taira rose to the surface (there became six total), and new plots were added in. The setting became slightly more developed, and she just ended up loving the idea even more.

Lana never expected to be a sci-fi writer. She always thought that she’d be a writer of fantasy, since that’s what she loved to read, but these books became the ones that she’d always wanted to write. They were awesome, with a plot and characters and a villain and battles and run on sentences (the grammar could be fixed later).

The novel that was once called KT (based off the names Kai and Taira) became Enhanced, and its sequel, Cryonic. (Remember that post where I told you what I was doing for Camp NaNo? Yeah, that’s the same Cryonic as here.) Lana was totally ready for Camp (note the sarcasm) and she was ready to take on any challenges that her new series, her Epic Sci-Fi, would give her.

-TO BE CONTINUED-

I know, that was a cliffhanger. You can hang on to your cliffs for a little while longer, though, because we don’t know how this story will end yet. We have come to that blank page that is called “the present”.

Camp NaNoWriMo starts in two days. (Or maybe three, I never know how to count these things.) And while I certainly don’t feel ready for it, I am excited for the story to continue and to work on Cryonic. It’s going to be so much fun, and I am definitely going to enjoy myself.


You can find summaries of the first two books with the “Epic Sci-Fi” link-y thing at the menu bar at the very top of the page. Enjoy!

32 thoughts on “Reformatting and the Epic Sci-Fi

  1. Rachel March 30, 2016 / 2:56 AM

    Interesting post. Good luck with camp!

    Like

    • Lana March 30, 2016 / 3:43 PM

      Thanks! Are you doing Camp also?

      Like

      • Rachel March 30, 2016 / 6:33 PM

        I am! I’ll be writing a brand new project. 🙂

        Like

      • Lana March 31, 2016 / 3:40 PM

        Oh, cool! What’s it about?

        Like

      • Rachel March 31, 2016 / 3:41 PM

        It’s a retelling of Peter Pan.

        Like

      • Lana April 2, 2016 / 6:19 PM

        That’s awesome. Have you ever read Peter and the Starcatchers? That’s one of my favorite Peter Pan retellings.

        Like

      • Rachel April 2, 2016 / 6:36 PM

        No, but I do have the book. I should read it soon.

        Like

      • Lana April 6, 2016 / 9:25 AM

        You should, it’s a great book/series. I recommend it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kellyn Roth March 30, 2016 / 10:56 AM

    Wow, I love the new look!!! 🙂

    And the book sounds interesting. Though I’m not usually into sci-fi very much. 😀

    Like

    • Lana March 30, 2016 / 3:45 PM

      Thank you, on both counts! And the funny thing is, I’m not into sci-fi very much either…but it just sort of happened.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth March 31, 2016 / 9:53 AM

        XD Yeah, I know what you mean. I recently found myself plotting a book set during the 1980s. Where. Did. That. Come. From?

        Like

      • Lana March 31, 2016 / 3:41 PM

        Oh, because the 1980s is so recent… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth March 31, 2016 / 6:06 PM

        Yeah. Like, my parents were alive then. *shivers*

        Like

      • Lana April 2, 2016 / 6:20 PM

        *laughs*

        Actually…you’re right, that is kinda weird.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth April 2, 2016 / 6:52 PM

        I suppose I could ask them what it was like. *frowns at ease at which research could be done if they happen to remember anything, that is* Um … no. Too recent. 😉

        Like

      • Lana April 6, 2016 / 9:24 AM

        The key word there is “if they happen to remember anything”. I’m not so sure that my parents remember all that much either.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Christine Therese March 30, 2016 / 11:31 AM

    I like the new look too! It definitely looks more professional and also more fitting to the blog, I think. Enhanced sounds really cool (and actually that’s one of my possible working titles for my Camp WIP) and I’m not ready for Camp either XD Good luck!!

    Like

    • Lana March 30, 2016 / 3:46 PM

      Thanks, and thanks! What is your novel about for Camp? Good luck to you too. 🙂

      Like

      • Christine Therese March 30, 2016 / 4:12 PM

        Mine’s about teenage superheroes (who aren’t really superheroes…yet? but they have powers). The rest of the plot I haven’t really figured it out yet because it fell apart and came to dead ends, and now I’m getting into story structure and stuff -.- It’s pretty crazy, especially considering that I want to start drafting it in April! Which probably isn’t possible. But yeah, I should stop rambling XD

        Like

      • Lana March 31, 2016 / 3:40 PM

        Oh yeah, I think you’ve mentioned that a few times. I like that idea a lot. Good luck with figuring it out! Even if you don’t figure it out beforehand, I’m sure it’ll still be fun to write.

        Like

    • Lana April 6, 2016 / 9:20 AM

      UM…AFTER I REWRITE IT?

      Trust me, it’s not the kind of first draft you want to read. Or maybe it is, if you like reading drafts that involved no planning and make absolutely no sense. Besides, when I rewrite it it’s going to be completely different, so the first draft won’t make sense anyway.

      Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter April 6, 2016 / 2:58 PM

        AWWW, OKAY.
        That’s fine. There is a reason I didn’t let anybody read Oracular until draft two, so I understand.
        But the concept sounds awesome plus you can’t go wrong with a character named Kai.

        Like

      • Lana April 7, 2016 / 10:04 AM

        Hehe, thanks. Although, Kai is the character that’s giving me the most problems at the moment…he’s having issues with his personality. (Which may be because I’ve been reading TLC recently and now I’m trying to separate the two Kais from each other…)

        Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter April 7, 2016 / 4:39 PM

        Hehe, I can understand that. you have to admit, though, the TLC kai is amazing
        Good luck with separating them!

        Like

      • Lana April 8, 2016 / 10:17 AM

        true true. that’s probably why my kai keeps trying to be like him.
        Thanks! I shall do my best to make him different but still awesome.

        Like

      • Lana April 20, 2016 / 3:59 PM

        Thanks! 🙂

        Like

  4. Antje April 21, 2016 / 3:17 AM

    What’s up, yes this paragraph is in fact good and I have learned lot
    of things from it about blogging. thanks.

    Like

    • Lana April 25, 2016 / 9:25 PM

      (Sorry for not responding to this earlier; for some reason it was caught in the spam filter which I hardly ever check, so I didn’t find it until now.) Thank you! I’m glad you liked the post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

