And So it Begins…

CNW_Participant.jpgYes, Camp NaNoWriMo has started! The excitement will wear off in a week or two, I know, but right now I’m excited about Camp and life and everything. Plus, I get Spring Break off of school next week, and it is fantastic how it coincides with the first week of Camp. That way I’ll have time to write while I actually want to.

Yesterday, for my first day, I wrote 1563 words, and I’m fairly pleased with that. It would’ve been nice to write a bit more, but I’m satisfied with how much I wrote.

I’m also kind of satisfied with the content I wrote. Obviously, it’s a first draft, and first draft + NaNoWriMo = blehhkghh, but not counting that, it’s actually okay, and my writing is ever so slowly improving.

One thing that was particularly fun to write about was about the airtrains, which is a public transportation system with railroad tracks that are about ten stories high. It was kind of inspired from my trip to New York City this year, where I rode the subway everywhere, but I altered it a little bit to be more sci-fi-y.

So it was fun to add a few of the setting details in that I’ve been thinking about, and I liked having a conversation between Will and Taira, and seeing the dynamic between them (they’re cousins, but their relationship is a little more like a brother and sister).

Other than that, I haven’t really written much that I can report on, or give advice-y things about, so I think I shall wrap up this post soon. I’m super excited to continue writing and see the plot take shape, and I’ll keep you updated on how my writing goes throughout the month.

For those of you who are doing Camp, how are all of your novels coming along?

 

15 thoughts on “And So it Begins…

  1. Kellyn Roth April 2, 2016 / 6:15 PM

    Good for you! I haven’t written at all! But, to be fair, my goals are more in the “write a little every day category.” But then … I haven’t that, either. XD

    Like

    • Lana April 2, 2016 / 6:22 PM

      That’s okay, though, ’cause it’s only the second day. (Actually, that’s a really procrastinating way of thinking–don’t listen to me when I say things like that.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth April 2, 2016 / 6:53 PM

        Don’t worry, I won’t. I never listen to people when they tell my to under-accomplish. I just under-accomplish without their help. 😉

        Like

      • Lana April 6, 2016 / 9:24 AM

        Haha. *applauds at your under-accomplishing skills*

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth April 6, 2016 / 3:01 PM

        *bows* Thank you, thank you! 🙂

        Like

      • Kellyn Roth April 7, 2016 / 1:23 PM

        *dances* *sings* *does a cartwheel* *bows her way off the stage* Um … yeah. I have secret, hidden talents. 😉

        Like

      • Lana April 7, 2016 / 2:44 PM

        Secret, hidden, under-accomplishing talents?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Christine Therese April 2, 2016 / 8:29 PM

    Agh, you’re so lucky! Good luck on your novel.
    Now I’ll shut up before I can whine about my Camp…

    Like

    • Lana April 6, 2016 / 9:23 AM

      Hehe, thanks! Good luck to you too! I’m sure you’ll figure it all out…eventually.

      Like

Leave a Reply

