Beautiful People: May with Nathor

PAPERFURY

Beautiful People is a monthly character interview hosted by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In. Since there are only 10 questions, I’ve decided to save the 20 question Character Studies interviews for my main characters, and use Beautiful People to introduce and develop some of my minor characters instead.

Nathor is a minor character from Cryonic who popped up randomly while I was writing and made me really want to learn more about him. In quick summary, he’s an extremely sincere, semi-introverted writer (well, poet) that lives in the fancy sci-fi-y city.


  • How often do they smile? Would they smile at a stranger?

Nathor is kind of completely like me shy, especially when starting conversations and stuff, and he’s also really serious. He wouldn’t smile at a stranger, unless they smiled at him first, but he finds enjoyment in lots of little things that make him smile. Softly, like the budding of a flower…okay, nope, I’m not the poetic one here.

  • What is the cruelest thing they’ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

“You only care about yourself.” His reaction was partly irritated and at the same time, kind of guilty and thinking they were right. He does care about other people, but he spends more time alone than with others, and he thinks that maybe he should fix that.

  • What is the kindest thing they’ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

“You’re the best person I know.” Nathor probably reacted with a “thank you” and a smile, part of him doubting it and the other part of him accepting the compliment and trying to internalize it. Or something, I don’t know. This is the question I had the most difficulties with, so it could be totally inaccurate.

  • What is one strong memory that has stuck with your character from childhood? Why is it so powerful and lasting?

Let’s see…I’m thinking it probably has something to do with him having to take on more responsibility and maybe something to do with his parents. I think his parents might have been pretty strict about respect and stuff (though that doesn’t mean they love him any less!) and he probably remembers being punished for something he did wrong. It’s powerful and lasting because I think part of him still resents it, but also because it reminds him of what he’s been taught about respect and such.

  • What book (a real actual published book!) do you think your character would benefit from reading?

I have no idea…he’d probably enjoy reading poetry to see how some people did it, and also just because he likes poetry.

  • Have they ever been seriously injured? How severely? How did they react?

I don’t think there was ever anything more than the typical broken bone or something. Nathor’s not exactly the type to try the most stupid of ideas, probably because he’s the oldest and has a lot of responsibility placed on him. If he was ever injured, I don’t know, he probably cried and it hurt and then he got better and didn’t want to get hurt again.

  • Do they like and get along with their neighbours?

I kind of doubt that Nathor talks to them at all. There’s probably some he doesn’t like and some he likes, but all from a distance. He’s not very outgoing unless he feels comfortable around people, and he’s okay with it being that way. He finds joy in nature and in his solitariness. (Is that a word?)

  • On a scale from 1 to 10 (1 being easy and 10 being difficult) how easy are they to get along with?

Meh, maybe a 4 or something? It takes a little while to get to know him and understand why he does some things, but he’s chill at the same time. I guess it really depends on the person who’s trying to get along with him…some would find it harder or easier.

  • If they could travel anywhere in the world, where would they go?

Hmm, I haven’t developed too much about the world, and I’m not sure how much he knows about it. I feel like he’d like to go somewhere peaceful and calm and beautiful, where he can just think.

  • Who was the last person they held hands with?

I’ve decided he has a little sister that he held hands with most recently, because boys who play with and love their little sisters are 105% more amazing.


Opinions/thoughts on Nathor? Does he sound like anyone you know (characters or otherwise)? What else would you like to learn about him? What are some of your favorite minor characters in the stories you’ve written and why? I’d love to hear about them!

13 thoughts on “Beautiful People: May with Nathor

  1. Christine Therese May 7, 2016 / 12:32 PM

    (I completely agree with the statement in the last answer hehe).
    Nathor sounds really nice! We seem to have some similarities with the introversion part.
    I have so many minor characters that I love! Some of them are just fun while others have been through a lot and are pretty complex.

    Like

    • Lana May 7, 2016 / 10:12 PM

      (It’s so true though.)

      He’s nice, and…hehe, he reminds me a lot of myself, mainly ’cause of the introversion/shyness stuff. But some other things too.

      Ooh, who are some of your favorites?

      Like

      • Fin Pym May 7, 2016 / 10:16 PM

        (I KNOWWW)
        Yep, introversion is so relatable.
        Hmm, well XD I don’t think you know them, but I’ll introduce you to them soon hopefully :3 Until then, I think they’ll be secrets, but they probably don’t like that already, haha.

        Like

  2. Kayla Marie May 7, 2016 / 2:02 PM

    Nathor sounds like a sweet guy. Loved the answer to number one:)

    Like

    • Lana May 7, 2016 / 10:05 PM

      He is very sweet, and thank you! I’m glad you liked it.

      Like

  3. La La May 7, 2016 / 5:25 PM

    I strongly agree with the loving big brother aspect of your story. How much of the storyline do you think you will finish before you start filling in the world? Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

    • Lana May 7, 2016 / 10:05 PM

      This is the second book in the series, so I already have the first one done, but I decided that after Camp NaNo this last month I’d go back to the first book and rewrite it (as well as do some world building). So, I’m going to start filling in the world as much as I can as soon as possible, before I start the rewrite. Thanks for stopping by! 😀

      Like

  4. sarahmjmac May 12, 2016 / 2:48 PM

    Yay for introverted characters! Nathor sounds like a great guy. I like that he enjoys solitude and space for thinking, but that he also isn’t a total hermit and if he feels comfortable, can be really friendly and outgoing. All the best with your future writing endeavours! 😀

    Like

    • Lana May 14, 2016 / 5:22 PM

      Yay! Yeah, I’m hoping he’s a good blend of being introverted while still being able to talk to people (which seems more realistic to me than either not talking at all or being really talkative). Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lunch-Time Librarian May 13, 2016 / 12:36 PM

    Agreed, boys with adorable sister bonds are infinitely more likable. With the flurry of extroverted characters it’s nice to see a character that keeps to himself more. It can be hard to not end up being a serious person with a lot of expectations put on you

    Like

    • Lana May 14, 2016 / 5:13 PM

      They definitely are! And thank you, I’m glad you like him! He’s an interesting character.

      Like

  6. sarahtps May 19, 2016 / 6:43 AM

    Nathor sounds like a great character. (Particularly if he has a good relationship with his sister; brother/sister pairs are generally awesome and adorable. I love both reading and writing about them.) From this interview, it sounds like he’s the sort of character I’d wish was real so we could be friends. 🙂

    Like

    • Lana May 19, 2016 / 3:07 PM

      Thank you! He is a great character. I’d like to be his friend too, although I’m not so sure we’d talk much to each other at first…maybe after we got to know each other better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

