Weekly Writing Goals & Accountability

(First off, my apologies for not posting last week–I was on vacation. I’ll be gone next week as well, but I’ll try to write the posts in advance for it. No promises, though.)

Anyway, story time! When I was first introduced to NaNoWriMo, my dad was the one who introduced me to it. In fact, he wrote a novel with me that month, and then wrote with me on a few subsequent NaNoWriMos.

Though he hasn’t written much recently, I did convince him to make a project out of revising our novels together. (In my case, I’m rewriting Enhanced, not revising, but it’s pretty much the same thing.) We’d planned to start in May, but because school was super busy and I had the Research Week and all of that, we never actually talked about it.

But last Saturday, we talked together and I decided that we really were going to start it this month, and we decided to take baby steps. Baby steps out the door, baby steps to he elevator…

We each chose something we thought we would be able to accomplish in the next week and decided to follow up on the next Saturday to make sure the other had completed their goal and to make a new one.

We haven’t actually completed a week yet so I don’t have definite results on how well it works, but I have been more productive today than I have for a long time by trying to work on my goal, so I think it’ll work really well. Plus, I’ve always heard that being held accountable to do something helps you to actually do it.

If you look on the sidebar of my blog, I now have a section called “Weekly Writing Goal” where you can see my goal for this week, which will also give you a heads up on what I’m working on at the moment (and maybe make the reasoning behind some of my blog posts make more sense). So every Saturday I’ll update that and you’ll be able to see what new thing I’m working on.

This week my writing goal is: Write basic plot outline of Enhanced and complete general world building for the Outer Regions.

The fun part about this is that you can do it too! I think it’s a great way to keep procrastination at bay and to get things done at a better pace. All you need is someone to hold you accountable for your weekly writing goals . It works best if they’re another writer making these weekly goals as well, but a friend or family member works just as well, as long as they’re dedicated to helping you. Posting it on your blog, social media, fridge, or some other place where others will see it also helps. 🙂

If you think this is something that would help you, I encourage you to do so! I think it’s a fun and useful idea and is especially good for the summer when you have more time to complete things.


Are you thinking of doing a Weekly Writing Goal this week or in the future? Or, do you already do something similar? What projects and goals have you been currently working on or are planning on doing in the near future! I wish you all luck in your writing endeavors! 🙂

19 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Goals & Accountability

  1. Kellyn Roth June 6, 2016 / 7:22 PM

    That’s a great idea! I probably won’t be setting a goal for this week … but I should in later weeks when I don’t have stuff going. 🙂

    Like

    • Lana June 8, 2016 / 4:48 PM

      You should! I think it works really well (at least so far, hehe).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth June 8, 2016 / 8:41 PM

        It should work. I should make some of my friends and the people on NaNo accountable for me. I figure it I had more people yelling at me it might be better. XD

        Like

      • Lana June 9, 2016 / 2:30 PM

        Haha, people yelling at you does tend to help you do things… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth June 9, 2016 / 6:25 PM

        Me, especially. I rarely function without yelling. 😉

        Like

      • Lana June 27, 2016 / 3:55 PM

        Yup. *yells at you randomly*

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fin Pym June 6, 2016 / 9:07 PM

    That’s awesome! I don’t have any writing family members, but I’m hoping to have more accountability next school year, when I’ll be taking a creative writing course, which I am very hopeful for. Right now I’m working on plotting my current writing project, then hopefully announce it once it’s done the plotting. Good luck with working to accomplish your goals!!

    Like

    • Lana June 8, 2016 / 4:47 PM

      Ooh, creative writing is fun! I took that last year and I’m taking the next CW class next year, so it’s exciting. It’s a fun class, and it did help improve my writing!

      Ooh yes, that mysterious project you mentioned something about earlier. You must finish plotting soon so we can all hear about it.

      Like

      • Fin Pym June 8, 2016 / 5:34 PM

        There’s only one creative writing course in our school XD It makes me sad.
        YESS I KNOW I SHOULD! I will do my best to get it done at/before the end of June.

        Like

      • Lana June 9, 2016 / 2:38 PM

        Aw, that is sad. We only have two though, so I don’t know what I’m going to do my senior year…I wonder if they’d let me take Creative Writing 2 again…

        Ooh, yay! 😀 I shall look forward to it.

        Like

  3. Morgan @ studiesincharacter June 9, 2016 / 9:58 PM

    I hate it when I read a post, don’t comment, come back, realize I read it, and not sure if I commented or not, and… okay, I don’t see any comments by me so I think I’m good. >_<

    I’m doing the 100-for-100 challenge, which is write 100 words for 100 days, which basically takes up my whole summer. The major plan: finish draft one of Cyberspace.
    …that’s about all.
    It’s sad how hard I’m struggling to write 100 words some days…

    Like

    • Lana June 26, 2016 / 10:31 AM

      Ooh, that sounds like a really fun challenge! Is it going well?

      Like

  4. Liv June 29, 2016 / 9:18 AM

    Hi! I found your blog off of NaNo & can I do the Weekly Writing Goal sidebar on my blog? I think it’s a really great idea. (I could give you idea creds if you want) I actually have some world building to do, also, and character stuff.

    Like

    • Lana July 1, 2016 / 8:47 PM

      Hi there and welcome! 😀 Of course you can use the Weekly Writing Goal sidebar, and no need to give me credit (unless you really want to, haha)! Ooh, world building is so fun! What’s your story about?

      Liked by 1 person

      • livtayy July 1, 2016 / 9:56 PM

        I know this is totally cliche, but its about two 12 year olds finding Atlantis and then getting recruited for *classified* so they can *classified* so I have to build Atlantis and its hopefully going to be a series so I have to build those worlds too.

        Like

      • Lana July 1, 2016 / 10:11 PM

        Ooh, that sounds interesting! If you can world build Atlantis right I don’t think it’ll be cliche at all.

        What do you mean, you have to build other worlds as well? Do the other books in the series take place somewhere else?

        Liked by 1 person

      • livtayy July 1, 2016 / 10:27 PM

        well, I’m still figuring out the details and what I can tell people, but the other books in the series will be in other “Lost Worlds” so they get to visit a lot of cool countries because of some stuff (Confidential)

        Like

      • Lana July 4, 2016 / 12:16 PM

        Ooh, sounds interesting. Good luck with writing it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • livtayy July 4, 2016 / 5:11 PM

        thank you! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

