Burn, Rewrite, and Reread Book Tag

By my order, this week is decreed The Week of Blog Tags, in which I shall gift you with a blog tag each day (in an attempt to finish all the ones I have been tagged for). Therefore, I shall not tag anyone, else there be a multitude of tags. If you wish to be tagged, you are! Thus ends the decree.


I was tagged for this fun one by Poppy @ Poppy’s Best of Books (thanks, Poppy!), and I’ve finally gotten around to it! For this one, I just took my 9 most recently read books and used a random number generator to select which ones for each round. (Okay, I couldn’t remember the last two so I just threw in two books I remember reading semi-recently.) It is so sad that I’ve only read one book so far this summer.


THE RULES:

  • Randomly choose 3 books that you have read.
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, re-write and re-read.
  • Repeat until you have completed 3 rounds (or 6 rounds).

ROUND 1:

  • Winter by Marissa Meyer
  • Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card
  • Saving Madeline by Rachel Ann Nunes

Burn: I guess out of these choices I would burn Saving Madeline. I really love some of the other books this author has written, but this one didn’t quite feel up to par, and the romance really wasn’t developed well enough.

Rewrite: I would definitely rewrite Winter. I expected to love it, but in all honesty, the book was hard for me to get through, and I felt like the ending was unrealistic. I’d have to have it rewritten to read it again. (I do love the first three books of this series, though.)

Reread: I know I’m going to reread Ender’s Shadow again at one point (probably at whatever point I ever end up reading the entire Enderverse) because it was amazing. I really connected with the characters and I just love Ender and Bean. It was a great book.


ROUND 2:

  • The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Xenocide by Orson Scott Card

Burn: I love all of these books, so I’ll just have to choose the one that I loved the least, which was Xenocide. I think this is kind of like when I read Speaker for the Dead a few years back and it was just hard for me to get through, and now after I reread it, it was so good. So I think it’s probably just that it’s not the right book for me at this point in my reading experience. The world building of the Chinese-ish religion was really awesome, though.

Rewrite: Nooo I love these other two too much. How about I just say I rewrite Ender’s Game so that there’s no swearing in it? Let’s just go with that.

Reread: I’ll be rereading The Bands of Mourning. That book was seriously amazing and kept me drawn in from the first page to the end. Seriously, Brandon Sanderson is a magician. I should write a blog post about how amazing his writing is sometime…


ROUND 3:

  • Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
  • Ender in Exile by Orson Scott Card
  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Burn: Definitely burning Fairest. It’s not that the writing was bad–it was beautiful–but the content was so…uggh…that I had to stop reading it. If you’re fine with adult content then you might like this book, but for my innocent young mind it was unnecessary and ruined the book for me.

Rewrite: Rewrite goes to Ender in Exile. It was a good book, but clearly it wasn’t up to par with the other Enderverse books I read because I don’t really remember much of anything that happened in it. So it’d need to be a little more amazing to compare with Speaker for the Dead.

Reread: Which brings me to my last reread, Speaker for the Dead. Like I said in Round 2, when I first read this I found it just as hard to get through as Xenocide is for me now. But reading it over again, I found that it was really awesome and kept me excited throughout the whole thing with plot twists that I’d forgotten about and awesome world building, not to mention cool discoveries about characters and their interactions and choices.


I hope you enjoyed and I definitely do not apologize for the plethora of Enderverse books. Have you read any of these books before, and what did you think of them? Remember, if you want to be tagged, you are! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, and Reread Book Tag

  1. Kellyn Roth June 28, 2016 / 5:18 PM

    You know, I haven’t read any of those books? I should. XD

    Like

    • Lana July 1, 2016 / 8:49 PM

      Haha, well, none of them is a historical fiction or a classic…. 😉 But most of them are really good.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth July 1, 2016 / 11:47 PM

        Hey, I read other things than historical fiction and classics! Sort of. Kind of. Not really. 😉

        Like

      • Lana July 4, 2016 / 12:15 PM

        I’m sure you’ve read a few books that aren’t…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fin Pym June 28, 2016 / 6:05 PM

    MY YOUNG INNOCENT MIND WAS NOT READY FOR FAIREST EITHER and I would definitely burn it.

    Like

    • Lana July 1, 2016 / 8:48 PM

      Yup, same feelings here. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

