Character Studies: Lil’s Beliefs

 

imageIt’s time for you to finally meet Lil! Yay, who’s excited? She got slightly introduced in this post I wrote before I left, about all the characters in Enhanced, but now you get to meet her even more fully. And yes, I do realize that these are the questions from July, but I’m not going to skip them because I want Lil to answer them. The questions are on beliefs, ideals, and morals, which will be lots of fun!

Character Studies is a monthly character interview hosted by Morgan Dusky from Studies in Character. You can find this month’s (well, last month’s) interview questions on her blog here and here.


  • Do you believe in true love?

Yes, I do, but it doesn’t have to be romantic. True love can be familial or brotherly or friendly as well, but it just goes deeper than normal love. True love is when you would sacrifice everything to help that other person.

  • How about love at first sight?

I don’t think so, not like how it sounds. There can be affection at first sight, longing perhaps, but not real love. That comes later, with time, lots of time.

  • Have you ever been in love—like really in love?

Yes. Yes, I have.

  • Do you believe in second chances?

Of course. Where would I be without second chances? I’ve made too many mistakes to count.

  • Is there something more to life?

I do believe so. I think there is a reason we are here and that we don’t die at death–not all of us, anyway. A part of us must stay alive, somehow. That’s what I’ve been taught to believe…that’s what I have to believe.

  • Do you believe in unicorns?  (Hint: If you say you don’t, somewhere a unicorn dies.)

*laughs* In that case, yes I do.

  • Are you superstitious?  Why?

I guess it depends on what you mean by superstitious. I don’t feel superstitious but maybe that’s simply because my beliefs seem normal to me. I believe that good comes from doing good and bad from bad,

  • Somebody you just met claims to be a time-traveler from the future.  Do you believe them?

I think part of me would believe them, and part of me would think they were just joking. They’d have to prove it, I think.

  • What would paradise look like?

Kaelan and our son son and I, all of us together. That would be paradise.

  • Bonus: What are your thoughts on balloons?

Balloons? Toddlers love them, and I think they’re pretty fun too.

  • What happens, do you think, when you die?

I don’t think we die–not every part of us. Some part of us keeps on living, survives the death, and goes on to a better place, a happier place where everyone can finally rest and be at peace.

  • Are you afraid of dying?

Yes. No. I…I know I’m supposed to know that something more will come, that I should be content with the future and what it may bring, but…I am frightened. I know there will be no pain, but what if it is not everything I was grown up to believe in? What if I die, and it’s just…the end? That’s what I’m afraid of.

  • What is the most irrational fear you have?

I’m afraid of getting hurt or wounded, and I’m not entirely sure why, considering I wouldn’t actually feel anything. Perhaps it’s just that everyone else is afraid, and they’ve passed that on to me.

  • Why are you afraid of that thing, even knowing it’s irrational?

I think what I said above–it’s sort of rubbed off on me from other people. And some part of me, because of that, is afraid that it really will hurt, that if my hand gets cut off or I get shot in the back, I’ll feel the pain for the first time I can remember, and I can’t imagine how much worse it’d feel without experiencing a smaller portion of it before.

  • You’ve just been threatened and told that if you tell anybody about what happened to you, you’ll die (or worse).  Do you tell anyone, or do you lie about what happened?

I wouldn’t tell anyone what had happened. If Kaelan… Maybe eventually I’d tell somebody, if I felt like it was safe, but I’d lie rather than run the risk of dying–or worse, having someone close to me get hurt because of it.

  • The one person who could save you is the person you trust least in the world.  What do you do?

I wouldn’t let them save me. I’d rather die.

  • Would you, or have you, ever killed anyone?

I’ve never killed anyone, and I never would. That’s horrible. To take someone else’s life…it’s so wrong, and I wouldn’t be able to bear the mere thought of myself were I to commit murder.

  • Do you have any recurring dreams and/or nightmares?

No. Blessedly, my sleep is normally very calm and free of dreams or nightmares, at least most of the time. When I do dream, it’s very odd, and nightmares are far and few between.

  • You’re going to die in exactly fifteen minutes.  What do you do with those minutes?

It depends on how I was going to die. If we were all being threatened and about to die, I’d spend my last minutes protecting my friends as much as possible. If I were alone…I think I would pray and pour out my soul to the sky. I would think of all I have lost, and all I have loved, of Kaelan and my baby.

  • Bonus: How long is your attention span?

I’m decent at paying attention, but the times when I’m not seem to always be the times when it was the most important.


Ahh, so there’s Lil! And I have finally finished this post, despite school being a little bit crazy busy at the beginning. (Short school update: I like all my classes and teachers, so I’m liking school, but I’m kept busy by homework and my marching band practices, not to mention things like writing and spending time with my family.)

Anyway, how did you like Lil? I feel like she made sure to answer some of these questions shallowly…but maybe the vagueness made her more mysterious or intriguing or something like that, heh. I do love Lil, though. She’s so interesting. Do you have any questions about her? I’m ready to answer them! (Unless there’s spoilers…then you’ll just have to wonder.)

And also, lastly, how have you all been? Is life getting busier at the start of a new school year? Anything exciting happening? Tell me about all the fun (or not fun, I suppose) you’re having!

10 thoughts on “Character Studies: Lil’s Beliefs

  1. Kellyn Roth August 31, 2016 / 11:59 AM

    Yes, some of them were a little vague, but I really liked her! 🙂 I want to learn more about her! I guess I’ll just have to wait until I get to read Enhanced … *deep sigh of waitingness*

    Like

    • Lana September 6, 2016 / 8:38 PM

      Well, I did start the rewrite yesterday, so hopefully you shall get to meet her sooner rather than later! (‘course, I haven’t even written 1000 words yet, so…it still may be a while, heh.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth September 6, 2016 / 8:52 PM

        I know the feeling … though I’m sure you’ll get it done! 🙂

        Like

      • Lana September 8, 2016 / 7:47 PM

        Hehe, I hope so! Though I do think I’m going to have to restart it again, hopefully today because the scene wasn’t exactly accomplishing what I wanted it to.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth September 8, 2016 / 8:05 PM

        I have taken out chapters upon chapters of novels … sometimes you just don’t have the touch. XD

        Like

      • Lana September 13, 2016 / 10:09 PM

        I get that. And some chapters just refuse to be written. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth September 14, 2016 / 11:07 AM

        I know! Exactly. I’ve been trying to figure out how to do the climax of IvIn for weeks now … *frustrated banging of head against wall*

        Like

      • Lana October 4, 2016 / 10:18 PM

        You can do it, Kell! I mean, you probably already have, considering how late I’m responding to this, but still.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth October 4, 2016 / 10:28 PM

        I actually haven’t … *clears throat awkwardly* XD

        Like

      • Lana October 5, 2016 / 7:44 PM

        Hmmm…you should probably do that. 😛 I’ll give you virtual cookies when you do!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

