Happy 1st Birthday!

You know, I always thought that when I’d had my first blogversary I’d do something really awesome, like have a book giveaway or…or I don’t know, something cool. But by now, you can probably guess that I have nothing planned. Not even cake. Unless it’s virtual blog birthday cake. In which case I have a multitude of it. Enjoy.

So if you have any ideas, please tell me what I could do to celebrate The Music of Words‘s birthday. Any posts you want me to write? A new series of blog posts? A story or excerpts you want me to post? Something awesome? -shrugs- I’ve got nothing right now.

But yes, exactly one year ago, I decided I wanted a blog and made one. Since then, I’ve written 65 posts, gained 61 followers (including myself, obviously), chatted with 658 visitors for a total of 874 comments, and received a total of 2,111 views. Thanks, everyone!

I find that I don’t have much more to write. I guess all I have to say is happy birthday, blog, and thank you all for reading/following/commenting/etc.!

32 thoughts on “Happy 1st Birthday!

  1. apr,mcl December 23, 2016 / 10:31 PM

    happy blogiversary! this blog is great!

    Like

  2. Morgan @ studiesincharacter December 23, 2016 / 11:00 PM

    Happy blogoversery! I just stared at that word for a very long time, and it now seems to be gibberish in my head. Oh. Maybe that’s because it’s not a real word.

    Anyways, I have no idea, and I’m not even sure what I’m going to do with my blogoversery. (Which, thankfully, is in February or March, so I have time to forget and let it spring up on me think about it.)

    Like

      • Lana December 24, 2016 / 4:54 PM

        Thanks! Hehe, probably. I wasn’t sure how to spell it. Blogversary? Blogoversary? Blogiversary? I don’t even know.

        Oooh…you could have your characters talk about birthdays or something…I dunno.

        Hehe, to me it feels like it’s been less than a year.

        Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter December 28, 2016 / 6:19 PM

        Yeah, me neither.

        Hmm, maybe, although currently, none of them have birthdays…

        Really? Huh.

        Like

      • Lana December 28, 2016 / 11:23 PM

        I just realized that none of my characters has a birthday either. Actually, I don’t even know how _old_ most of them are…though I guess that’s a very basic part of character development.

        Yeah…but it doesn’t feel like it’s been a year since last December regardless of blogging, so…

        Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter December 28, 2016 / 11:44 PM

        I know the general ages of some of them, but sometimes I find it’s best to not necessarily assign them an age before you start writing them. Fun fact: when I first started writing Cyberspace, I had actually intended for Ceveth to be about eighteen.

        Heheh, fair enough.

        Like

      • Lana December 29, 2016 / 12:08 AM

        Yeah…only afterward I always think to myself, “They’re 16. Wait, no, I’m 16. They have to be 17, or even 18. But no…what if they’re 15? Or 16? Or 17? Or…” and it goes on and on because I can’t ever decide their actual age.

        I always thought Cev was older than he was…but it kind of makes sense that he’s fifteen. (Is that right?)

        Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter December 29, 2016 / 12:12 AM

        Hehe, with Shimara and Ean for a while, every time I’d take too long to write a draft and I hit one of my own birthdays, I’d just make them both a year older so they were always the same age as me and it was simpler.
        Yeah, I’m thinking now he’s about 15. I mean, the characters here are really hard to give ages to, heh, because they all have their really mature moments, and then their really immature moments, and then everything in between. Cev and Daz in particular, but even with Ki.

        Like

      • Lana December 29, 2016 / 3:34 PM

        Haha, pretty much all of my novels have characters that are similar to my own age…the older I get the older my characters get. But hey, in Enhanced, I actually have an adult POV, so I guess I’m improving, right?

        Yesss, definitely.

        Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter December 29, 2016 / 3:38 PM

        Heh, yeah. I’m trying to branch out. With this new novel I’m starting, I’m making the characters start off about about ~14/15. (I want the novel to span like three years of their lives, though, so.)

        Like

      • Lana December 29, 2016 / 3:41 PM

        Oooh, cool! Novels that go over multiple years are awesome….and much more realistic.

        Like

      • Lana December 29, 2016 / 4:10 PM

        Well, I guess it doesn’t necessarily have to cover years, but novels that take place within a week or a month and so much happens seem to be unrealistic, especially if they’re making a super elaborate plan or something like that. But a lot of novels happen in a short amount of time like that, so having one that doesn’t is a nice relief.

        Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter December 29, 2016 / 4:16 PM

        Ah. ‘Specially when it’s like “you knew this guy for less than 24 hours WHY ARE YOU GETTING ALL MUSHY AND GROSS not realistic romance, sorry”?
        Heh, yeah, I’m not doing it so much for the realism factor or anything, but just because I want to have several years of growth for these characters. I just haven’t necessarily figured out how to MAKE it three years because what I have of the plot has no time frame at all, and so… it’s just kind of blank in the middle.

        Like

      • Lana December 29, 2016 / 5:58 PM

        Yes, exactly! Instalove is annoying.

        Ahh, yeah, that makes sense. It’s okay, all my plots are blank in the middle…that’s where I make stuff up.

        Like

      • Morgan @ studiesincharacter December 29, 2016 / 10:04 PM

        It only works in certain situations, I think, and not as often as the is portrayed in fiction.
        Heh. That’s where my stories get weak and I lose confidence.

        Like

      • Lana December 30, 2016 / 2:00 PM

        Yeah…I mean, personally, I don’t think it even exists, but that’s just me. I mean, I’m sure that love can grow from the “oh I just met you I love you” thing, but I don’t count that as true love in any way…

        Hehe…I need to get better at planning out middles. Hopefully revising some stuff will help me with that.

        Like

  3. Kellyn Roth December 23, 2016 / 11:04 PM

    *shrugs* I didn’t really do anything for my 1st blog-birthday for the same reason … no ideas. Plus I’d just published TLOTV and was worn out. 😉

    Anyway, awesome! Congratulations!!! For some reason I thought you’d been blogging waaay longer than me … why did I think that? I guess this blog has always felt so professional … or maybe I was just comparing you to me and being all like, “Wow … that’s a lot better” when really it was like comparing … Cheetos to cheez-its. Although … I like both Cheetos and cheez-its … so yeah.

    So … *eats virtual cake* 😛

    Like

    • Lana December 24, 2016 / 4:51 PM

      Hehe, that makes sense. And thank you! Nahh, you were blogging way before me. And I’m not even sure whether the Cheetos or Cheez-its are supposed to be better, and I like both of them, so I guess we both just have fabulous blogs, right? Hehe.

      *eats a couple slices of cake as well*

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth December 25, 2016 / 2:36 PM

        Yeah, I have no idea … I suppose it’s a personal taste thing … but I like ’em equally!
        Well, just since last September, but yeah. 😀

        Like

  4. Kit December 24, 2016 / 11:36 AM

    *eats cake* Congratulations, Lana!

    If you’re wondering about different posts, I’ve always really enjoyed the ones talking about your writing projects, whether it’s Zel, Battle Song, or another one.

    Like

    • Lana December 24, 2016 / 4:49 PM

      Thanks! And ooh, okay, good to know. Do you mean posts talking about the story/characters in general, or updates on how it’s going, or excerpts of them?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kit December 24, 2016 / 5:36 PM

        All of it, really… I don’t know, I just enjoy learning about other people’s stories. I think I might like talking about the story/characters best, but it all sort of varies and fluctuates.

        Like

    • Lana January 5, 2017 / 10:56 AM

      THANKSSSSS woah, that sounded slightly creepy

      Like

Leave a Reply

