Why Do I Write?

why I write header

This question has been rolling around in my mind for a while, especially as I went through my AP Language & Composition class this last year in school. Why do I write? Or maybe the question would be, more appropriately, What do I want to accomplish with my writing?

I’ve written stories for as long as I can remember. I have old notebooks with drawings and half-finished stories and stuff I wrote for school. Stories come to my mind, ideas, wondering “what if…?” and thinking of what people’s lives might be like.

Writing has always been a part of me. I write because I love thinking of stories, of characters, of making worlds and plots and delighting in how they all fit together. I can’t imagine life without writing (though I still manage to procrastinate it).

But as I attended my English class last year, new questions came to my mind. Should I be writing for a greater purpose? Is my writing supposed to accomplish more than just pleasure?

We read books–classics–and I realized that the reason these books were classics was because they talked about problems in our world. My teacher said once that “Many books come from exaggerating one idea or belief and looking at the results.” Racism, communism, class differences, scientific thought, and so on–we read about them. Discussed them. Thought about them and what needed to be changed.

And I began to wonder: when people read my writing, will it change them?

I’ve always loved fantasy, but I’ve never yet read a fantasy book in school. Is that because they don’t talk about world issues, or just because heroism isn’t classified as something the world needs?

Maybe both.

I love the idea of heroism–and I believe it is something the world needs. We could learn so much from reading The Lord of the Rings in school–strength, heroism, friendship, the battle between good and evil, the struggle to resist temptation. Isn’t better moral character what the world needs?

But that seems to be slipping away in books. It’s hard to find a popular book that doesn’t swear or have innuendos or bad scenes…or actually shows the consequences of bad choices.

We, as humans, are so attached to stories, and so the characters within them become our heroes. We want them to win. We want to become like them. Even if it’s not in very significant ways. Even if it’s just me wanting to be a little more selfless or a little more kind or a little more forgiving.

That is what I want my writing to accomplish. That is why I write: because we need more heroes in the world.

So my books might not become classics, and people won’t read them in school, but so what? I don’t want my books to be a social critique, I want them to be inspiring, to show that there is a difference between right and wrong, and that right is better.

What do I want to talk about? I want to talk about what true love really is or should be (not shallow, not instant, not physical), the difference between right and wrong and why, how emotions like grief, fear, and hurt can be changed to hope, how one person really can change the world, true friendship, forgiveness, love, truth

Yes, I do love writing about wars, dragons, fantasy cultures and religions, and fairy tales, but that’s the outer wrapping. In essence, those things are what I want to write about. I know that God has given me this gift of writing for a reason–and, I think, a love for fantasy. There are people I can reach and touch, and that is my goal: to change the world by changing people, one story and one hero at a time.



tell me!

Why do you write? What do you want to accomplish with your writing? Or, how do you think you might have been blessed to be able to change the world? What is your passion? Are there any topics that you think go unaddressed too much in writing? What is the strongest type of hero, do you think?

8 thoughts on “Why Do I Write?

  1. Kellyn Roth July 20, 2017 / 5:56 PM

    AAAAH I LOVE THIS POST SO MUCH LANA! It’s just so beautiful. I love it! 🙂

    Why do you write?:
    I don’t know? I seriously have given this a lot of thought … but I still haven’t come up with a great answer (like you; your answer is FANTASTIC!). I guess because I just have to. I’ve always written. But someday there will be a meaning behind it … other than letting the characters out of my head … and, y’know, writing books that are clean and show God in them …

    What do you want to accomplish with your writing?:
    Whenever I think about my writing goals, I think about finishing fifty thousand books. Like I said, my moral-writing-system is pretty awful! But I’m doing my best to write good books that can teach people stuff without being preachy … I’m really having an off-commenting day, aren’t I? I can’t explain myself!

    I mean, I have themes in my books like family and faith and all that. Everyone’s important/different. Forgiveness. All that. But I don’t know …

    What is your passion?:
    Writing? 😛

    Okay, so, I really care about the truth. I really care about interpreting people and morals and that kind of thing just so. *makes little to no sense*

    Are there any topics that you think go unaddressed too much in writing?:
    Yes? I think so? I just can’t remember what they are right now. I mean, I don’t see the good, old-fashioned, “they sinned and this ruined their lives” stories of the 1800s anymore (like The Scarlet Letter). I don’t know if I want to see them quite on that scale … but books showing the consequences of sin, definitely.

    What is the strongest type of hero, do you think?:
    Uh … another hard one. WHY ARE YOUR QUESTIONS SO HARD LANA?!?!?!

    How about this one: the strongest type of hero is the one who actually acts heroic in a Biblical sense instead of just being a cool guy who comes in and rescues the princess at the last moment, etc. etc.

    It’s weird that I really loved this post but was lame about commenting … 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lana July 26, 2017 / 9:36 AM

      THANK YOU KELL! I’m glad you liked it…and I’m sorry my questions were so hard. 😛

      See, that’s totally fine though. I really didn’t know why I wrote for a long time either (other than that I liked it), but I guess it just all came together as I was thinking about it, and…yup, this post happened.

      I agree that there should be more books that show the consequences of sin! A lot of books nowadays show bad actions but with okay consequences…or they imply that they aren’t even bad. And I wish that books showed people more what bad could come…and especially from little things. Like getting in a fight with someone or something like that.

      Oooh, I like that definition! Heroes definitely need strong moral standards and integrity!

      Haha, it’s okay, Kell. I know my posts just leave you speechless sometimes. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth July 27, 2017 / 8:24 PM

        I REALLY LIKED IT THOUGH! I HAVE NO IDEA WHY I’M USING CAPS NOW BECAUSE I’M NO LONGER EXTREMELY EXCITED EVEN THOUGH I STILL THINK IT’S A GREAT POST. XD

        YES! So often characters get away with murder (sometimes figuratively, sometimes literally) with few or no consequences in fiction … even in the more Christian fiction books I tend to read. It’s even more annoying when a character does something wrong and then says, “Oops, shouldn’t have done that!” and all the other characters are like, “No biggie. It’s not like you sinned big time or anything. God will forgive you …” And yes, God will forgive him/her, but it doesn’t mean that the consequences magically blow away. Does that make any sense? Sometimes I wonder if I actually know what I’m talking about … XD

        *bows* 😉

        Yes, I know … sometimes I’m just blown away by all the awesomeness …

        Like

      • Lana August 1, 2017 / 4:03 PM

        BECAUSE CAPS ARE GREEEAAAT.

        No, that definitely makes sense! And I agree! Especially about the consequences for the little things. Every action has a result and sometimes it’s hard to see the bad ones in fiction.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth August 2, 2017 / 9:13 PM

        Exactly! “Every action has an equal and opposite reaction.” It’s the law of physics. 😛

        Like

  2. Michael Christensen September 7, 2017 / 11:42 PM

    Really great post! For those of us that are writers, we all have our reasons. I write for a lot of reasons, similar to what you mentioned. Sometimes I feel something or have an idea, and if I fail to write it down, I may forget it and then it’s lost. I never want to have that happen. I write because I have a story to tell, and even if I’m the only one that reads it or hears it, I know that everything I write is as much for me as anyone else.

    Like

    • Lana September 14, 2017 / 6:58 PM

      Thank you for commenting and for sharing! Do you just write music or do you write other things as well?

      Like

      • Michael Christensen September 14, 2017 / 7:14 PM

        I’ve got a few other writing projects I’m working on 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

