Monthly Dares: March 2017

march monthly dares.png

Yay, March! It’s been a little while since I posted, and I’m a bit late for March, but that’s okay! It’s never too late to make new dares. If you’re new here, you may be wondering what monthly dares are? They’re inspired by the fabulous Kellyn Roth @ Reveries, and basically you set goals for the next month and dare yourself to do them! My twist on it is that most of my goals help me to achieve my New Year’s Resolutions throughout 2017. You can check out February’s post here. Let’s begin!

*NYR indicates that the goal is part of a New Year’s Resolution.

feb review.jpg

Overall, February was kind of bleh. Some parts of it were great…other parts of it were not so great. But I did learn some new things and have decided to trust in God more and turn my life over to Him, which was awesome. Anyway…here are my results!

 

mar life.jpg

1. (NYR) Read my scriptures every morning & pray morning and night. Pretty good! Basically, the same as last month, which is that I read my scriptures every day and prayed almost every day. However, there’s a lot of room for improvement in regards to actually getting something out of it…but I did get a new scripture journal, and the other night I felt really close to my Heavenly Father as I was praying, which was wonderful.

2. (NYR) Write in my journal at least 23 times (since 23 is my favorite number)! More or less. Well, more on the less side, actually. I only wrote 11 times…but at least I wrote several entries that were more than one page. That’s pretty impressive in and of itself.

3. (NYR) Research the colleges in my state and see which ones I’d most like to go to. Not really. I did think about college a lot, though! And this was partly I’ve already basically decided where I want to go to for college…now I just have to get a good enough ACT score to get a decent scholarship. *crosses fingers*

4. Study for five minutes every night for the ACT. I did okay with this goal. I didn’t do it every night, and I’m definitely not feeling ready to take the ACT in just a few days, but the fact that I did study is great! And after I take the ACT the first time, I’m going to study more and get good enough to get a really high score on it.

5. (NYR) Get my driver’s license! Seriously! Failure. I didn’t even drive. No more on this subject…I don’t want to dwell on the pain of this procrastination.

6. (NYR) Finish my online class and take the test and BE DONE WITH IT. Nope… I got an extension for the class and I have to be finished and take the test next week. Which totally explains why I haven’t done any assignments for it today… *hides in shame*

7. (NYR) Do at least 1 hour of service once a week, and try to do one small act of service every day. *dies* *slowly* Well, I was feeling positive at the beginning of the post. Okay, so I didn’t do any huge service stuff. But I did, on the other hand, do some small little service. But nothing deserving green, or even yellow, text.

8. Keep track of the chores I do so that I can actually get paid for them. Work for Dad for at least a couple of hours to get back in the groove. Yeah! At least for the first part. I didn’t really do all that many chores, though, so I think I’ll have to alter this goal again to meet my needs.

9. Floss every night. I’m rockin’ this one! Still not every night, but I think I did better this month than in January. Like, it’s even starting to be a habit and it’s quick and pretty much painless even when I’m super tired.

10. Sing at least 4x every week to practice for my weekly voice lessons. Hm…not my best. I think I sang more in January. I was busier this month, but that’s not really an excuse. I think I sang an average of 2 times a week. Maybe 1.8 or something like that.

11. Finish Personal Progress! No. I didn’t even really work on it. I have to finish sewing this quilt and it’s going to be the death of me. (Not really, but how come it’s so hard to arrange blocks in the right place?)

12. Get off the computer by 9 p.m. at least half the time. Hopefully this will help me to get to bed sooner…? This never happened. It might have happened once. And I also didn’t get to bed sooner, either. *marks this goal for review as well*

13. Do at least 20 minutes every week of Spanish practice with Duolingo. Grrrrr. I did it for one out of the four weeks. So that’s something, at least. And I went to Spanish class as well… Okay, okay, I’ll try to do better next month.

14. Hand write a letter and mail it to someone. *sighs* This didn’t happen. I mean, I thought about it, and I thought of who I’d want to write too, but it didn’t happen. I just need to buckle down and do it!

15. Make a meal for the family at least once. *sighs again* Nope.

mar reading.jpg

1. (NYR) Read 5 books this month. Awww yeah! I read 7 books this month! Not quite as good as last month’s ten books, but still above my goal!

2. (NYR) Write reviews for the said 5 books on Goodreads. Mostly. I’ve written reviews for three of them, and the reviews for the other four (plus the one I read today, in March) will be coming eventually! I’m kind of excited to write my review for The Hunger Games because after I finished it, I was analyzing all of these writerly things and why it was a bestseller and such. No promises that I’ll remember all of my thoughts by the time I write the review, but I’ll try my best. You can find my Goodreads page here, and I actually have a profile pic now! It’s the same one I use everywhere online, but still, it’s not a blank face anymore.

3. At least one has to be a book that someone has recommended or that is on my TBR. Check! I read Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. After watching the anime for a second time, I decided I wanted to read the book. I loved it and I shall also be writing a review of that soon!

4. Read at least 200 pages more in The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time #1) by Robert Jordan. Well, no. But I decided that if I don’t enjoy reading something, what’s the point of reading it? So I’m probably going to just stop reading this anyway because I can’t even convince myself to open it up anymore.

mar blogging.jpg

1. (NYR) Write at least 6 blog posts this month. Pretty darn close. I wrote five blog posts, and in actuality, I did write a sixth one on the last day of the month so that I could achieve that goal, but I decided not to publish it because of Goal #3 in this section. I didn’t feel like you’d love the post, so I decided it wasn’t worth posting.

2. Make a graphic for each post, like I’ve been doing. Yep! No more to say here.

3. Blog what I want to and don’t feel pressured about it. Yes, I did this! And it’s been really great, but I have been thinking about blogging recently and I realized that my blog, at the moment, probably only appeals to writers. I believe once people start reading and enjoying my books, they’d love to read it more, but at the moment my posts mainly only help writers, and that’s the audience I’m getting.

But as an author, I need more of an audience of readers…so my thoughts now are: how do I draw in people to my blog who’d be interested in reading my books while staying true to myself and enjoying blogging? What kind of posts would I enjoy doing that would accomplish this? Do you have any ideas for me?

4. (NYR) Keep the sidebar updated, especially the word count for Enhanced. Well… There wasn’t all that much to update.

5. Make the Zel page. Also, think about making a resources page sharing what you’re learning about self-publishing and stuff. I don’t think so. I mean, a goal to think about things isn’t a very good goal…but I definitely didn’t make the Zel page (bad llama!) and I didn’t think all that much about making a resources page. But I did think about it once or twice, so maybe that counts for something?

mar writing.jpg

1. (NYR) Write 28,000 words this month (1k every day) and keep track on it on the 365K spreadsheet. Ha. Ha. No. My spreadsheet is horribly sad. I wrote a pitiful 11,116 in February. Basically, I didn’t write 2/3 of the time. *flails and wails*

2. (NYR) Write 30,000 words in Enhanced. Even worse. I think I wrote something like 6k in Enhanced this month. On the other hand, I did get past a major problem I had with it, but I’m still finding it hard to get back into the story again.

3. (NYR) Write a short story or flash fiction. *growls at self* No. I did work a little bit on a short story, but I didn’t come close to finishing it.

4. Finish the short story from last month. Nope. Nada. Nothing. Didn’t even think about it.

5. Write another chapter in TC. *melts because melting seems like the appropriate response* I think I opened up the document once…but I didn’t write a thing.

6. Force my friend (a different friend than from #5) to write her part in the CN (a different collaborative novel), so that we can finally finish it. YAS. A wonderful, glorious YAS. Because it was very hard, but it finally did happen! Now I just need to force her to write just one more part, and then I’ll write one and the book shall be done with!

7. Research cover-making and the important aspects of it, since that’s definitely a major point with self-publishing. Yeah, a bit. I did do some research; I read a couple of articles, found some more self-publishing articles, etc. I still do have more to learn, though, but I did pretty good at this part of the goal.

8. Along with #7, create at least five covers using what I’ve learned, at least one of which I have to be proud of. Not yet. I’ve only made one cover so far (which I’m not terribly proud of), but I want to continue doing this in March and give you a nice post at the end about what I learned and sharing & critiquing the covers I made–yay!

mar awesomeness.jpg

This is a new section where I can share the awesome things that I did that weren’t in my goals! Yay! So, here’s a short list of some of the things I did:

  • I was more social! Which led to me getting asked out on a fun date. (I mean, I’d already known the guy for many years, but I know that being more talkative made the difference.) I’m really getting into the social aspect of Social Dance class. I’ve made several new friends, and I’m improving in my skills with talking to guys!
  • I went to a three day writing conference, which was amazing! Seriously, there are so many things that I learned that I want to try and to share with you. My dad took me and I skipped school to go listen to authors talk on different subjects. This is part of what inspired me to finally get over the stuff that I was having problems with in Enhanced.
  • I went to a family history fair thing and now I want to learn stories about my ancestors.
  • I turned 17! Yay! I got a coloring book and gel pens, a Brandon Sanderson book, a jacket, and a lovely new scripture study journal!
  • I decided on my birthday that I would turn my life over to God and let Him be the one who takes control and guides me. I’ve been hearing all over the place in seminary and in church that He will help me with my goals and to become the best I can be. And yes, I’ve failed many times every day since then, but I know that when I have relied on Him, He’s helped me. It’s amazing.

mar goals.jpg

Now onto March and my dares for this month! Everyone cross your fingers that I’ll be able to achieve them!

mar-life

1. (NYR) Add more meaning to my scripture study and prayer. Journal about scriptures 5x a week, and write down a prayer at least 2x a week.

2. (NYR) Write in my journal at least 20 times! This gets lower every month…I guess I’m just waiting for a goal that I will actually reach.

3. (NYR) Research the colleges in my state and see which ones I’d most like to go to.

4. Take the ACT!

5. (NYR) Get my driver’s license! Or at least work on it.

6. (NYR) Finish my online class! This one is happening this month no matter how much I procrastinate, thank goodness.

7. (NYR) Find service to do, and do it! My cousin told me about this project people were doing in her neighborhood where they crocheted afghans, and I do love crocheting, so I think I’ll ask her for the pattern.

8. Do my chores more often (every day, if possible)! Work for Dad at least 10 hours this month–money goes toward college.

9. Floss every night.

10. Sing at least 4x every week to practice for my weekly voice lessons.

11. Finish Personal Progress…I know I have to get this one done…I just have to!

12. Get enough sleep so that you don’t die the next morning. (a.k.a. get 8 hours of sleep.)

13. Do at least 20 minutes every week of Spanish practice with Duolingo.

14. Hand write a letter and mail it to someone.

15. Make a meal for the family at least once.

16. Learn a story about an ancestor.

mar-reading

1. (NYR) Read 5 books this month

2. (NYR) Write reviews for the said 5 books on Goodreads + reviews from last month.

3. At least one has to be a book that someone has recommended or that is on my TBR.

4. Read something edifying or knowledge-giving. (Yeah, I don’t even know what that means either.)

mar-blogging

1. (NYR) Write at least 6 blog posts this month. (Wahoo, 1/6 of the way there!) 5

2. Continue making graphics (because this is one of the easier goals to keep).

3. Come up with five blog post ideas that I would enjoy writing but are not just about my book or about writing advice.

4. (NYR) Keep the sidebar updated, especially the word count for Enhanced. Add a “Scripture of the Week” section?

5. Seriously, just write a couple of bleh paragraphs on the Zel page. That’s better than having nothing there.

6. Reach out to other bloggers! Comment on 5 people’s blogs that I’ve never commented on before.

mar-writing

1. (NYR) Write 40,000 words this month (1k+ every day) and keep track on it on the 365K spreadsheet.

2. (NYR) Write 40,000 words in Enhanced. This one I think is kind of crazy. 40k is a lot even in NaNo months, but I do need to catch up from last month. If I really do write 1k every day, I think the excess that I write will add up to 40k total (though maybe not in Enhanced necessarily).

3. (NYR) Work on The Luminary (the dark short story I mentioned in a different post) and outline it to its completion.

4. Write another chapter in TC. Don’t let the story dieee!

6. Force my friend to write her last part in the CN. We’re so close!

7. Continue with last month’s goal of cover-making research + making 5 covers (one of which I have to be proud of). Write a post afterward sharing what I’ve learned.

mar learned.jpg

February was kind of a crazy month, and writing-wise, I did pretty badly. Again, reading was one of my best, but blogging also had a definite improvement from last month! And life was about the same as last month. So the takeaway: I can do better! I want to really take a positive outlook on this and actually do better next month! Hmm…maybe I can find some way to measure how well I did each month and compare…

Anyway, I just want to keep trying again and again! I think that is the most important thing to do. No matter how many mistakes I make or how much I want to growl at myself for how I did this month, I can always try again! And that’s what I’ll continue to do.



What are your thoughts? How did your February go? Are you excited for another chance to try again and start over? What are some of your goals for March? I want to hear about them, so link me to your posts or just tell me! What posts are you most excited for this month and what new ones do you think I should introduce? How should I do better at blogging? I would love your advice!

Thank you all for reading! You are amazing!

11 thoughts on “Monthly Dares: March 2017

  1. May Everly March 4, 2017 / 8:48 AM

    Oh, I really enjoyed reading this post! I feel like I know more of you now, honestly. 😛 Hope you’re able to achieve more goals this time! And I have no idea for post ideas… maybe just writing tips? IDK.

    Like

    • Lana March 4, 2017 / 1:32 PM

      Yay, I’m glad you enjoyed it! And yeah, I definitely hope so too. I’m going to try my best to do as many as I can.

      Writing tips are good! Especially since I have lots of ideas from the writing conference I went to…

      Liked by 1 person

      • May Everly March 4, 2017 / 4:54 PM

        That writing conference sounds awesome! What authors were there?

        Like

      • Lana March 7, 2017 / 3:08 PM

        It was! Well, the only author I actually knew of was James Dashner, but there were several other popular authors there, and then there were also a few authors who have only published a few books, so there was lots of variety! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • May Everly March 7, 2017 / 6:02 PM

        Oh, wow! James Dashner! That’s awesome! 😀

        Like

      • Lana March 8, 2017 / 7:37 PM

        Yep! I only went to one class with him in it, though…there were so many choices to choose from!

        Like

  2. Kellyn Roth March 4, 2017 / 4:21 PM

    First, let me just say … your dares are always so great! I know you didn’t accomplish a lot of them, but seriously. I want your dares! Some of them are easier and some are harder and they’re all so … just so good.

    OH YOUR BIRTHDAY HAPPENED!?!? Yay! Seventeen is so old. One of my friends turned seventeen in early February. I wrote her a huge letter (and handed it to her in person along with her present at her party … it’s kinda a tradition) and listed things my characters did at seventeen (several people were married or did crazy stuff … I was surprised!) and things people are allowed to do at seventeen (including watch R-rated movies without parental consent? Whoa …) and such. 🙂

    And you went on a fun date! Yay! Someday I will date. I was just at a sleepover with my buddies, so yeah, lots of talk about that kinda stuff. We don’t actually know any boys to talk about (at least not any we want to talk about) who aren’t fictional or dead (what? I think Cary Grant is handsome, okay? XD ), but … it was still fun. So I have boys on the brain. Though not specific boys … more like … boys as a group. *nods* Okay, that came out weird. I only hope I won’t become one of those girls who drives me crazy … you know, they think of nothing but boys? I go to extreme measures not to appear that way … sometimes to the point of not making eye contact with someone unless they’re a girl … I’m a sad person…

    How did your February go?: you just left a super long comment on my “how did February go?” post, so I think you know. 😛

    Are you excited for another chance to try again and start over?: DEFINITELY! February was hard for me, so I’m excited for March!

    What are some of your goals for March?: sooo many! You know them, too. I also want to try to figure out some stuff in my life and get more organized and just overall be a better person.

    What posts are you most excited for this month and what new ones do you think I should introduce?: I don’t know … I did enjoy learning more about Enhanced. It was a cool guide. 🙂

    How should I do better at blogging?: I don’t know! That’s so hard. Well, interacting with other bloggers is a great way to attract more attention to your blog. It’s what I’ve been trying to do. If you comment on their blog, chances are they’re gonna comment on your blog. I try to return comment for comment. But … that doesn’t really build a readership, per se. It’s something I’m struggling with myself … I don’t know how to go about it.

    Sorry for the giddy comment! I just got back from a sleepover, so I’m useless to the world. 😛

    Like

    • Lana March 7, 2017 / 3:16 PM

      Haha, you can have my dares. Please complete them for me! 😉 Just kidding. But you can steal some of them to do yourself as well, if you want to!

      Ooh, that sounds fun! I thought you had to be like 21 or something to watch R-rated movies…not that I’m ever going to, so… But yeah, I’m an old seventeen-year-old now! It’s crazy!

      Haha, sometimes it’s more fun to talk about boys as a group than about specific boys…then you can imagine them being super wonderful and awesome and like boys in books.

      Yay for a new month!

      I’m working on the second part of the guide! I mean, kind of. I’ve done a couple of the characters but there’s still a bunch left to go.

      Yeah, I get that! But sometimes when I go to people’s blogs and comment I’m like “Oh hey, I want to actually read this blog!” and so I follow it. So hopefully if I comment on other people’s blogs, they’ll come comment on mine and maybe that’ll happen to me too!

      You…Kell…struggling with a readership…with your hundreds of followers? Hehe, just kidding. We should always be trying to get more readers. 🙂

      Oooh, I hope your sleepover was fun! (I mean, I assume so from your long comment, hehe.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth March 7, 2017 / 3:40 PM

        I don’t think I’ll be able to complete them for you … maybe I could take them and fail at them for you? 😉 But yeah, I might steal some of your dares …
        Well, maybe I was wrong … you can’t trust everything you read (and especially not on the internet and ESPECIALLY not on Wikipedia), but … that’s what I read.
        I do that all the time! I’m like, “STOP IT KELL YOU’RE JUST SUPPOSED TO BE SNEAKILY INFLUENCING PEOPLE TO CHECK OUT YOUR BLOG!!!”
        Okay, I guess you’re right … but then I’ve got Reveries Reviews to think about. I should probably just put more time into it … but I just don’t love it quite as much as Reveries!
        It was fun. Exhausting to a certain extent (even I can’t maintain a three o’ clock bedtime without being tired 😉 ), but really, really fun. We actually talked about boys more than usual … it was kind of weird. Of course, it was mostly just our pathetic attempt to make truth or dare more exciting … especially since we were too lazy to do dares at that point … but it didn’t really work because none of us have embarrassing secrets. 😉

        Like

      • Lana March 8, 2017 / 7:51 PM

        Go for it! Stealing is totally acceptable in the blogosphere. (Wait, that sounded bad. Not all stealing. Just some of it.)

        *should probably read and follow Reveries Reviews…but Reveries is so much more fun* 😉

        Yay, I’m glad it was fun! Haha, truth or dare can either be really frightening or really boring…I don’t think there’s a nice balance in between, unfortunately.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kellyn Roth March 8, 2017 / 8:05 PM

        *glances at Reveries Reviews* *tries to think of a way to make it fun* *shrugs and decides it’s not even worth the effort*
        Yeah, I don’t think there’s a happy medium … although we have had fun with it in the past … or I have. I’m pretty imperturbable with dares …

        Like

Leave a comment